2017 Designer for Tomorrow

Awarded to Lara Krude by Peek & Cloppenburg and Fashion ID

Her What Remains collection on the runway of the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin impresses the Jury Board of Patron Stella McCartney.

At the start of the award show, 2016 Designer for Tomorrow winner, Edda Gimnes, presented her new collection in her first solo fashion show. Among the prominent guests were, among others, international model Kenya Kinski, the newly married Victoria Swarovski as well as German model and actress Susan Hoecke.

“I am truly honored to be the Patron of this award again. Especially as it is the tenth round of the Designer for Tomorrow,” said Stella McCartney in conversation with presenter Johanna Klum. “Lara Krude impressed me today with her talent for tailoring. Her concept is great and very relevant in a changing fashion industry.” With her collection, Lara Krude has created a melancholic world without tailors, in which men have forgotten to dress themselves properly and wear trousers over their coats, pajamas over their jackets or a coat on top of their coats. The next step includes Lara receiving a sustainable, individual sponsorship program from Peek & Cloppenburg and Fashion ID. As part of this, she will complete an internship in Stella McCartney’s design team.

By winning the Designer for Tomorrow 2017, Lara Krude is successfully following the footsteps of exciting up-and-coming talents from nine Designer for Tomorrow rounds. Her predecessor Edda Gimnes, the winner of the “Designer for Tomorrow” Award 2016 presented her new collection at the start of the show and as a highlight of her one-year funding program by Peek & Cloppenburg and Fashion ID at the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin. Edda impressed with her lively designs and couture appeal, for which she dipped her significant hand-printed prints in powerful colors. “Be more brave in the way you dress” is the courageous motto of the up-and-coming designer.

This year’s finalists: Fanny Varga from London College of Fashion, Fatima Danielsson from Istituto Marangoni Paris, Lara Krude from HAW, Hamburg, Lisa Haas from MD.M, Munich, and Marcella Lobo from Amsterdam Fashion Institute.

designer-for-tomorrow.com | #designerfortomorrow

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *